Make your own free website on


Free at Last

Home | German Colonization | World War I | Belgian Colonization | Becoming a UN Trust Territory | The Genocide | The Rwandan Genocide Through Photographs | The Civil War | Free at Last

Rwanda's independence and government

INDEPENDENCE: "In 1961, the monarchy was abolished, and Ruanda, as it was then called, became a republic. It achieved full independence in 1962 as Rwanda, with Gregoire Kayibanda as its first president." (Rwanda 968 - 969) "The Belgians declared the country independent in 1962, and" the Hutus made sure "there was no mistake to be made" - they were in charge. While the Hutus were in power, they made the national scapegoats the Tutsis. "The new Rwanda was Hutu and Catholic and thus believed to be a complete break [from] the past . . . The previous history of Rwanda under the Tutsi monarchy and then as a colony was rejected as long period of darkness." (History of Rwanda)

GOVERNMENT: "Rwanda's first local elections [were] in March 1999 and its first post-genocide presidential and legislative elections in August and September 2003, respectively". The Tutsis have political dominance. The government is a presidential republic multiparty system. The parties consist of the Centrist Democratic Party or PDC, the Democratic Popular Union of Rwanda or UDPR, the Democratic Republican Movement or MDR (officially banned), the Islamic Democratic Party or PDI, the Party for Democratic Renewal (also offically banned), the Rwandan Patriotic Front or RPF, and the Social Democratic Party or PSD. In their government's executive branch, the chief of state is President Paul Kagame since April 2000; the head of the government is Prime Minister Bernard Makuza since 8 March 2000; the cabinet is a Council of Ministers which is appointed by the president. Their legislative branch is made up of a unicameral National Assembly or Assemblee Nationale as it is called in Rwanda. The Assemblee Nationale is made up of 53 seats whose holders are elected by a direct vote. The judicial branch of the country is made up of a Supreme Court, a High Courts of the Republic, Provincial Courts, Distric Courts, and mediation committees. (Rwanda CIA)

Enter supporting content here

Its Colonial Past and Independent Present